Life Lesson: Depression Hurts But Helps?

Published 08/19/2014 by Dani B.

I haven’t been depressed my whole life.

Just starting in my 20s. I’m now 24, almost 25. I take pills so I can just sleep. The more I sleep, the less I can worry.

Sucks that I have been in this depressive spiral for almost 5 years and the fact that I don’t know how I got here.

Things started to happen more on the negative side than it did on the positive side. 

I wish I could turn back the hands of time and re-watch to see what happened and try to prevent it. 

I love being happy. I love feeling like I have purpose. I love feeling like people want me around. I love to have real happiness.

Now, I feel completely opposite of how I want to feel.

I feel like a failure in all areas but I am trying to get better. I just want to do the things I feel right and go from there.

Depression hurts very much but I wonder does it also help? I mean you can always try to get the help you need, if it isn’t from a “prayer fixes all things” person from the right person/medicine. 

Maybe depression for some people gives them something to look forward to. I mean some depressed people (like me) feel like I am on rock bottom and the next level is so close but I’ve already used all the helps I could get so I feel stuck.

*shrugs* I don’t know. Hopefully soon that I’ll get out of this spiral and can be happy, again..

Leave a Reply

